Homemade Spirulina Facemask

Anyone who knows me will know that I’m a sucker for a facemask…and when you add the words ‘home made’ in front of it, I’m sold!!!
You might have read my post on the Homemade Honey and Oat Face Scrub that I made using the superfood Baobab (if not, you can find out how to make it HERE) – this mask follows the same superfood route, but this time uses Spirulina.

If you haven’t heard of Spirulina, (Wikipedia has helped me out….) it is a cyanobacterium (blue-green algae) that can be consumed by humans and other animals.  Dried Spirulina contains about 60-70% protein, so it is often used by many to curb craving and prevent over eating.  Other benefits include helping with energy, looking after your heart and harmonising your zen!!

Spirulina is rich in vitamin A, B12, calcium, iron and phosphorus – which are all essential for glowing skin. It also facilitates faster cell turnover which helps skin heal quickly, or with any breakouts.  Spirulina also contains tyrosine, vitamin E or tocopherol, and selenium (I know I’ve just listed lots of fancy names that probably don’t mean very much to you, but), these are all proven to help assist with the effects of ageing – and I’ll take any help I can get there!!

I took the inspiration for this mask from the beautiful Madeleine Shaw – don’t forget to check out her site for lots of yummy healthy recipes too.

To make it, it’s so simple and just requires 2 ingredients…

  • 2 tsp Spirulina
  • 1 tbsp Runny Honey / Raw Maple Syrup

As well as acting as a the perfect ingredient for turning the Spirulina into a gooey, rich facemask – honey is also an amazing antibacterial agent.  This means that it’s a super for clearing up any spots, and with it being so rich in antioxidants, it can also give a little face lift too!

As the Spirulina powder has such a dark green colour, it looks almost black when mixed with the honey…but don’t freak out!!


You know the drill by now, make sure that you have clean skin before applying the face mask and remove any traces of make up – Garnier Micellar Water will work a treat.

I used the back of the spoon to apply the mix to my face, as let me tell you….this is pretty messy!!
Once you’ve covered your face, leave for 10 minutes, before using a warm cloth to remove.  If you’ve applied it quite thick, then it will take a little while to get it all off, but the hot water will make this easier.  I’d also recommend using a dark coloured face cloth to avoid staining.

Your skin might feel a little dry afterwards, so just add a little bit of moisturiser and enjoy your silky smooth, glowing skin!!


^^^super geeky photo 😂^^^

xxx

11 thoughts on “Homemade Spirulina Facemask

  1. Aloha beautiful,

    I really enjoyed reading your post. Especially because, me too, I am a sucker for facemasks (my favorite is an Aztec clay powder that I mix with Apple cidre vinegar (awesome anti blemish/pore tightening mask). I always love to check out different blogs and getting inspired 🙂

    Thank you for sharing !

    I love that we seem to like the same things.

    I just recently started my blog where I will write about my 60lbs weight loss journey (I like to call it my journey to healthy, strong and confident ;-)), beauty, fitness, different places around the world and different types of cuisines. I hope you can find some motivation and inspiration as well on my blog 🙂

    I just published an article on my go to make up look (video) using my favorite products.

    Check it out and follow me if you are interested:-)

    https://claudiamariefit.com/2016/04/14/my-go-to-make-up-look-video-using-my-favorite-products/

    I would love to hear from you on my blog and for you to be part of my journey:-)

    Have a lovely day!

    Aloha from Hawaii

    Like

Leave a Reply

