Lucy Bee’s Intensive Hair Mask


As a lover of homemade beauty treatments, when I saw Lucy Bee had released a book containing 50 of her top natural beauty recipes, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it.

Arriving through my door the next day (gotta love Amazon Prime!), I started to flick through the pages to see what I could make first! ๐Ÿ˜€

Broken down into separate sections containing recipes for ย Hair, Beauty and Skin, the book ranges from various masks, lotions and even smoothies & energy bites to help give your body that natural boost.

I have to admit that I was a little disappointed on first look that a lot of recipes contained ingredients that most people wouldn’t have in their storecupboard. ย Containing Coconut or Shea Butters, using various essential oils (eucalyptus, chamomile, lavender etc) or even clay powder – meant that unfortunately I needed to make another Amazon order before I could make any of the recipes I had marked out.

Don’t get me wrong, there are simple recipes such as the cleanser that purely contains coconut oil or the lip scrub, that uses coconut oil and sugar – however I had a hair mask earmarked, and for it I needed to get myself some bentonite clay powder.

Designed as an intensive mask for coloured hair, my newly dyed blonde locks were screaming out for a moisture boost. ย So once my clay powder arrived, I gathered the rest of the ingredients (an avocado, two eggs and some coconut oil) and mixed together.

Adding to my hair in sections and working the mask through, the slimy texture soon coated my hair. ย This bit was always going to be a little bit messy, so doing this over a sink – or in the shower is recommended! Once the product was combed through (with my fingers) from the roots to the ends, the book advises that you wrap it in a damp, warm towel and leave over night.

Sleeping with a damp towel was never going to be comfortable, but what I hadn’t bargained for was how over powering the smell would be!! Waking up at 1am and not being able to get back to sleep from the distracting eggy avocado smell, wasn’t ideal! So eventually I had to give up and go for a mid-night shower (enter a very sleepy me)!

I do admit my hair felt softer afterwards (and probably would have felt even more so if I’d made it through the whole night!) but unfortunately I don’t think it’s one that I’d repeat again…and I’m sure my boyfriend will be pleased with that decision too!

I’m looking forward to trying some more recipes though and currently eyeing up a facemask, so will keep you posted with how it goes ๐Ÿ’•

 

 

4 thoughts on “Lucy Bee’s Intensive Hair Mask

Leave a Reply

